Wednesday, 18 February 2009

Facebook backtracks. Loses face.

After 48 hours of intense user pressure Facebook has caved in and reverted back to its old terms. These, remember, still allow the company to hold on to your data, while their latest terms, had threatened to keep the rights to sell, re-publish and generally profit from your content forever - even if you deleted your account.

Given how many students and adults use Facebook (185 million at the last count) this had posed a real compromise of privacy, in ways that might not have become apparent to subscribers until years after content had been uploaded and profiles seemingly deleted.

Yesterday, the founder of the company, Mark Zuckerberg, tried to claim the change in terms of service were intended to ensure wall postings and the like remained online, even after the poster's account was deleted. What a load of tosh. It's quite clear Facebook was hoping it could slip in this important alteration and not be rumbled.

Now, Zuckerberg has been forced to climb down, at least for the time being.

What's my take on this? Remain cautious on what you post to Facebook and other sites like it. 


TesoriTrovati said...

Thanks for that informative post. I was not aware of all that foolishness. But I will be more cautious and aware at what is out there on my posts!
Enjoy the day!

Sacha van Straten said...

Hi Erin,

I spent last week giving assemblies to about 1000 students at my school about web safety, as part of European Safer Internet Week.

The rise of the digital footprint is something many people don't consider, especially the young, for whom the notion of privacy is rather different to our own.